Caitlin's Real Journey to Health

A lot harder than it sounds

Holiday Dinners and Breakthroughs

So I have sucked with updating this. To be honest, it’s hard to find the motivation to knowing that no one is reading it anyway. Aside from that it’s been a crazy last couple months. To sum it up and make a long story short: crazy and ridiculously hard class, the death cold that wouldn’t go away, and a family member in the hospital. So yeah, crazy. Plus spring decided to arrive a touch early and the weather has been pretty wonderful as of late so I’ve been spending a lot of time outside. I mean, wouldn’t you rather be outside when it’s wonderful out than cooped up?

And yesterday was Easter (look at me stating the obvious). You know what that means: holiday dinner again. I think for most people it isn’t as big a deal as Thanksgiving or Christmas but it’s a holiday dinner all the same. In my family, it’s just as big. My grandma could probably feed a small third world country with all the food she makes. And don’t even get me started on how many times we’ve told her that she makes way too much food. We honestly have leftovers for weeks. Yet, she still makes all this food. And she definitely encourages you to keep eating. You know that person that takes it as an insult if you aren’t completely stuffed or go back for seconds and thirds? Yeah, that’s my grandma. So I always end up eating WAY too much and then I feel uncomfortable for the rest of the day. Now shock of shocks, we didn’t have that much food this time around. I was amazed. We had the ham, of course, and a potato side (baked hashbowns mixed w/ sour cream and some seasonings – YUM!), two vegetables, deviled eggs, cottage cheese, and rolls. Oh, and desert. All in all, a very small holiday dinner. I still got full but I didn’t feel horribly uncomfortable. It was kind of amazing. I still got some leftovers, but just enough for a couple of days, which is nice.

I had what I deemed a small breakthrough the other day. Knowing I was gonna get some leftover ham, I didn’t see the point in going to the store and wasting money on lunch meat, so I had to go get some lunch. The dining center I like to go to on campus was absolutely packed so my friend and I decided to go uptown. We just ended up going to Wendy’s and I just got a burger since it would be quick and I wasn’t feeling a salad there (they’re so watered down it isn’t even funny – at least every time I’ve had one at this particular Wendy’s). Well I started eating my burger and I was honestly grossed out by the grease. I just felt disgusting eating it. And that was almost a good feeling for me. Granted I didn’t like being grossed out by my food, but I have never just had that strong desire to NOT eat fast food. So hopefully I can keep it up. I do still love the fries though, which will make it a little more difficult.

I’ll do a weigh-in later in the week. I can guarantee it won’t be too different but that’s a post for next time I suppose.

April 9, 2012 Posted by | Uncategorized | , | Leave a comment