Caitlin's Real Journey to Health

A lot harder than it sounds

Goals

I decided something over the weekend. I am going to run a 5K. And I’m definitely going to run it. It’s called the Color Me Rad 5K. It just looks like a blast. And I think making running fun is the key to making it something that people want to do.

It’s not until August so I have plenty of time to get myself up to it. I know it’s only just over 3 miles but I’ve never run 3 miles consistently in my life. I’ve walked/hiked way more at a time, but never run. We would always just get timed for 1 mile in school and other than warming up for cheerleading practice, I pretty much preferred to do a sprint.

So I need to set some goals for myself. I looked at this program called Couch to 5K. I’m probably gonna try it but I feel like I could already skip the first couple weeks of it because I can already run 3-5 minutes no problem so if I start it from day 1, I’ll end up being bored.

But as I’ve alluded to before, I hate goals. They’re on the same vein as New Year’s Resolutions for me. I feel like I’m setting myself up for failure. My life is so hectic that every time I try to put long term goals in place for myself, I end up not being able to achieve them and I feel terrible and look at myself like I failed in some way.

So I got to thinking about something. I’ve tried long term goals but I’ve never really tried short term goals for myself. And by short I’m thinking week long goals at a maximum. If I can set a goal at the start of the day, something really simple and easy to fit into my day (even as simple as run for 5 minutes), then I can have a sense of satisfaction at meeting my goals and it will make it easier for me to achieve things. As I hopefully start feeling better at making goals, I can start making more concrete long-term goals for myself.

April 16, 2012 Posted by | Uncategorized | , | Leave a comment